political | 11.12.2018

Your Guide to Legal Weed in Nevada

Adrian Daniel Schramm

Staff

If you follow this website, you should be caught up on marijuana legislation in Canada and California (check out those articles if you are not and would like to be), but we still have a few more states to cover.

Next up: Nevada.

Here’s everything you need to know about legal weed in Nevada.

Marijuana Laws in Nevada

Possession

Anyone 21 and older can buy and possess up to one ounce of marijuana bud or an eighth of an ounce of concentrate. Additionally, anyone 18 and older with a valid medical marijuana card can purchase up to 2.5 ounces every two weeks. This includes concentrates and other forms of marijuana and the medical license can be issued in any state. Minors can also qualify for a medical card as long as a parent or guardian signs the Minor Release Form and agrees to act as the child's primary caregiver.

Cultivation

Adults 21 and older can grow marijuana (in theory) but there is a serious caveat: You can only grow your own pot plants if there isn’t a dispensary within 25 miles, effectively preventing most Nevada residents from growing marijuana.

If you are outside of the 25-mile radius you can grow up to 6 plants per person or 12 plants per household.

Consumption

If you are 21 years or older then you can legally consume marijuana. That being said, where you are allowed to consume marijuana is quite limited, especially if you’re a tourist.

Here’s where you CAN’T use marijuana:

You can’t use marijuana in any public place.

You can’t use marijuana in a moving vehicle, even if you're a passenger.

Similar to California, pot smokers are constrained to smoking in their house, a friends house, or in the woods where no one can tell you otherwise (although it is technically illegal to smoke marijuana on federal land). The state plans to consider legalizing cannabis cafes in the coming year to make it easier for tourists and residents alike to stay within the law while using marijuana.

Cannabis and Driving

More than 800 people have been given marijuana-related DUI’s in Washoe County, Nevada. So the message is clear: Drive high, get a DUI.

Drive under the influence of marijuana at your own risk because, unlike alcohol, there is no legal limit to driving while high. If any THC shows up on a police sobriety test odds are you’re getting a DUI if you are in Nevada.

What about weed shops? Cannabis Cafes

There are more than 100 marijuana dispensaries in the state of Nevada with a high concentration around the major cities of Reno and Las Vegas and the rest sprinkled throughout the state. Basically, you shouldn’t have too much trouble finding a weed outlet unless you are in the middle of nowhere.

According to CBS News, roughly 70 to 80 percent of marijuana dispensary customers in Las Vegas are tourists. Not living in Nevada means they do not have a private residence in which to legally smoke and are forced to do it illegally.

“No other industry in the world can you buy a product and then not use it anywhere. It's silly," says Armen Yemenidjian, a Las Vegas dispensary owner, to CBS News.

Looking to follow Colorado’s lead (weed lounges are already legal there), Nevada state legislature will visit the issue in 2019 but already a few cannabis lounges such as The Smokeout Club are planning to open as soon as it becomes legal.

Recreational cannabis sales have been legal in Nevada for over a year now. The first year's sales totaled $529 million, raising $70 million in tax revenue.

Based on its success, I highly doubt that the state's plans are anything other than to continue to foster Nevada’s thriving cannabis economy in the future.

Read this next: Vote Green: Cannabis Emerges as the Big Winner of the 2018 Midterms